One To Remember


I have posted before about my love for camping. There’s just nothing like the pop and hiss of a delicious smokey fire, Falling asleep to the night song’s of frogs and distant loons and enjoying your morning coffee, cross-legged on a rock beside the lake…sigh….You can imagine after a long winter and a damp and dreary spring, I was more than ready to get a trip in A.S.A.P! So, the boy took some time off work and we excitedly planned our outdoor vaycay for the Canada Day long weekend.

As the weekend drew nearer we began to notice a trend in the weather…Rain. A lot of it. Generally the weather in Nova Scotia is anything but predictable so we figured as usual, the forecast would be off and stuck to the plan. The man boy headed out to snag our spot and set up shop right after work on Thursday. It rained. The girl and I, excited, eagerly made our way out to join him on Friday afternoon. It rained. Actually, it poured. Like, torrential downpour, sideways, fat soaking drops, monsoon kind of rain…Slightly soggy, we decided it was time to set up the tarp. Well….We did manage to get it up, but the wind just blew some of the rain right up underneath, effectively adding to our already damp mood. We were wet, the chairs were wet, our gear was wet…My girl even had puddles in her boots :/ We were supposed to get up to 20ml but I’m willing to bet we got more. At one point it rained so hard that when I popped into the tent to grab some dry dud’s for the girl, the floor was rippling and rolling like a water-bed. Upon further investigation, half on the tent was sitting on a very deep, very large puddle. We moved it back a bit and dug ourselves a trench. I shit you not, a trench. Worked tho!

It rained off and on all day Saturday and stopped Sunday morning just long enough to partially air out our drenched and sagging tents. As proud as I am of myself for surviving the whole weekend at 8 months pregnant, I’m not gonna lie, at times it was less than pleasant. Ok, it was pretty terrible. But! The girl had fun, not caring that she was wet more than dry and her mother resembled some strange cross-breed of rat and poodle, drenched, wrung out then drenched again. We did have a dry enough night for a fire and ample time for stuffing my face with s’mores and spider dogs and at least the temperatures we pretty good. Would I do it again? Not until I forget what if feels like to be a soggy miserable mess for three days. I have flashbacks when I go to get in the shower. I’m not there yet.

It may not have been the ideal weekend, but it was definitely one to remember…

Miss K ❤

 

4 thoughts on “One To Remember

Leave a comment